Maybe

It’s a normal day.
Do I know something’s coming?
Maybe.
Maybe not.

Maybe there is something sinister
in the very air here
Maybe my imagination is running haywire.

Maybe every firm step in every closed elevator is a threat
Maybe these cigarettes are firing up my paranoia.

Maybe this is a reaction to a trigger warning I did not heed
Maybe it’s my PMS acting up.

Maybe I’m losing my mind and slowly going insane.
Maybe I’m just a frustrated shell of a depressed person.

Maybe I’m a victim, circling back to where I was hunted,
Maybe I’m the revengeful murderer you’ll read about in your morning newspaper, five weeks from now.

You’ll never know.
But then, nor do I.

I am
a walking train wreck
waiting to happen
and I don’t know
how to stop.

Penny for your thoughts?

