Only know you’ve been high when you’re feeling low

I remember you.
The lines on your face.
The crease of your smile.
The constant wetness of your eyes.
I think of you,
I miss you,
I write to you,
I write of you.

I say I can’t help it:
that it’s the wind, the sun, the stars
the love we had, the pain we felt
that makes us real.
Makes me want to dig through
the shoebox in my head
that holds the sound of your laughter
and the loss in your eyes whenever you saw me go.

But
that is not all it is.
I don’t remember you because I have to.
There is no gun to my head
or knife on my arm.
I remember you
because it feels good, this hurt.
It feels good to bleed out on these pages in blue,
to kill myself thinking of you
and the pixie dust you carry
that makes (made?) every moment with you magical.

Because even the memory of you
is the best thing
I ever had.

Because even the memory of you
is enough.

Title: Passenger. Let her go.

Penny for your thoughts?

