The Dark

Why do you love the dark?

I love the dark because it allows me to be whoever I want to be. I can be the smartest person on earth, the prettiest girl in the city or the most interesting person in the room. I can be the poet who moves people to say things they’d never say to people they don’t talk to anymore, I can be the actor who makes people cry inspite of themselves, I can be the person who has such a magical smile that she lights up the day of whoever she comes across.

I love the dark because it allows me to be me. It allows me to cry when I don’t know why I am crying, allows me to hug to myself a guilty joy.

I love the dark because it does not judge, it does not force me to confront my fears or live up to my dreams. It frees me of expectations that I hold from myself, and those that others hold from me.

Why do you hate the dark?

I hate the dark because it makes me fall into a comforting lull, falsely telling me that it is safe to fall asleep in its arms. And then the dark betrays me into the hands of sleep, whose sister, dream, terrifies me every night.

I hate the dark because sometimes it comes on without warning, and it scares me to be so close to it. So close that I can feel the thickness in the night, the way it envelops me, as if waiting to steal me away.

I hate the dark because it is both my best friend and my worst enemy, and I can’t live without it.

Penny for your thoughts?

