The perfect beginning

Thinking about writing a post, I could not settle on anything. Multiple ideas came into mind, but all were eventually discarded by me. My mind yearned for a stellar opening line. After all, every great work has always begun with a brilliant line.

‘It was the best of times; it was the worst of times.’

‘It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.’

So I set to finding my own opening line. Whole ideas were cancelled on the basis of the fact that I did not have an amazing opening line for them. Many ideas, some half-baked; some fully formed, fluttered around in my head, but none gained my approval. A critique on power-based politics? No, the right sentence to open it isn’t occurring to me. A short story about a wheel-chair confined woman and her desire for an orange? No, what do I start the story with? That perfect dialogue – out of reach. As time passed, I became impatient. I tried getting inspired by reading my favourite blogs, but then again, that ideal opening eluded me. I became increasingly frustrated and eventually felt like just giving up and not doing anything after all.

It’s what we do in life, isn’t it? We wait for the perfect moment to take a particular step. A perfect moment to tell someone how much they mean to us, a perfect moment to start working really hard on something you know you should do now, a perfect moment to do anything at all. But what we forget is, at the end of the day, when all the work is done, what we wish for is a glorious sunset. The sunrise might not have been truly beautiful, maybe not as stunning as you wanted it to be. But does it really matter? As long as you worked hard in your day, you will sit down with a cup of tea and be able to enjoy the setting sun quietly, content that you have done your part. There are many people who fail in life, who give up. They might have had an amazing start, but no one remembers them once they fade away. It is the strugglers who turn their luck around, who fight for what they deserve that have a good ending and that get our applause. Does anyone remember the beginning? No. And then there are many times we do not tell someone we love them, waiting for that immaculate elusive moment when all will be right. There will never be such a time. Who knows what tomorrow may hold? Now is what you have, and now is what you should use. It’s a small life. Make every moment count.

As Sarah Ban Breathnach put it,’ Life is not made up of minutes, hours, days, weeks, months, or years, but of moments. You must experience each one before you can appreciate it.’ Maybe the perfect opening eluded me. But if I succeeded in making even one of you do what you had been putting off, this piece would be a success.

Now I’ll get back to the woman and her orange.

Penny for your thoughts?

